Wednesday 28 March 2012

Tommies hand out year end awards

The St. Thomas Tommies men' and women's hockey teams were presented their annual team awards last night at the annual STU Athletics banquet.  Of note was Kayla Blackmore receiving team MVP and the Cathy Wadden Commitment award for the female student-athlete who best represents the student-athlete ideal in balancing her academic, volunteer and athletic pursuits.  Rookies were the story for the men's team, picking up all the awards except MVP, which was given - rightfully so - to Charles Lavigne.  It was also confirmed that Lavigne will be pursuing his pro hockey career next season and will not be returning to the Tommies.  Best of luck to Charlie and congratulations to the award winners and graduating players.

Men’s hockey 2011-12 winners

MVP: Charlie Lavigne

Rookie of the year: Co-winners, Steve Sanza and Jonathan Bonneau

Unsung hero: Robert Zandbeek

Best defenceman: Felix-Antoine Poulin

Most sportsmanlike: John MacDonald

Women's hockey 2011-12 winners

MVP: Kayla Blackmore

Rookie of the year: Danielle Miller

Most improved: Carly Critch

Best defensive player: Courtney Fox

No comments:

Post a Comment